Top 5 – Guilty Pleasures

Welcome to our very first Top 5 of the blog.  This series is inspired by the book (and subsequent movie) “High Fidelity” by author Nick Hornby.  In the “Top 5” Series, all 3 authors and the occasional guest author will choose their 5 entries based on the topic, and this will generally lead to some discussion.  Also, we are looking for your top 5 on the same subject, so please leave your comments and additions to the list.  Thanks, and I hope you enjoy the first of the series.

The first topic was chosen by Shaun.  Guilty Pleasures.  Your top 5 songs that you are somewhat embarrassed to like, but you just can’t stop listening to.  Are all these songs worthy of guilt?  Are they worthy of praise?  That of course is debatable.  We have decided to limit these to the last ten years, so we have allowed 1999-2009.   Here they are:

Kris

1. David Guetta – Love is Gone (Fred Rister & Joachim Garraud Radio Edit Remix) – 2007

As far as I can tell David Guetta is a DJ who makes music that doesn’t interest me in the least, but this song, which I was first introduced to by MTV Europe in a hotel room in Amsterdam, is just so damn catchy that I’ll listen to it anytime I want a pick me up.

Youtube

2. Enrique Iglesias – Escape – 2002

Back in 2002 I got mono and had to sit at home for a couple weeks doing nothing. Every evening I ended up watching the Muchmoremusic Top 10 videos. Every day I’d see this, Shakira and Kylie Minogue. When I recovered the songs were still stuck in my head and still are to this day.

Youtube

3. Shakira – Whenever, Wherever – 2001
See Enrique above.

Youtube

4. Britney Spears – Oops! I Did it Again – 2000

Red vinyl skin tight jump suit. I think that explains this.

Youtube

5. George Michael – Flawless (Go to the City) – 2004

I like George Michael, but some people would consider this song just a bit too cheesy for my tastes.

Youtube

Kristyn

Shaun’s demanded that we each share our guilty pleasures of the past ten years, and although I feel that’s unfair – given that they are the very thing I would like to remain unknown to the public, I have decided not only to comply but come clean with no shame.

So here we go, in order from least to most shameful….

5. The thin line- Jurassic 5 feat. Nelly Furtado released in 2002 Power in Numbers.

I wrestled with this one for a while, not because I was unsure about the pleasure part, but c’mon how bad could it be, it’s Jurassic 5 after all. Then I listened to the song again, guilty. I remember head bobbing to this song over and over again with my little brother fondly. You just feel so cool listening to Chali 2na rap and singing along to Nelly Furtado (turns out I still know almost all the words). Definitely a guilty pleasure.

Youtube

4. Love Generation- Bob Sinclair released 2006 Western Dream.

Okay this one I almost don’t feel guilty about, just listen and try not to dance. Really it could be considered an international guilty pleasure. I remember traveling around Europe during the summer of 2006 and hearing that song in every club we went to, no matter the country.

Youtube

3. Since U been gone- Kelly Clarkson released in 2004 Breakaway

This one is self-explanatory. It’s catchy, it’s powerful, it was the anthem of the year. Well at least for me when I was alone in the car.

Youtube

2. Underneath your clothes- Shakira, released in 2001 Laundry Service

“Lucky that my breasts are small and humble, so you don’t confuse them with mountains.” With lyrics like that, and a voice so throaty you have to give her credit for comic and sex appeal. Maybe it’s just that I’d like to be her in another life. Either way I like the song.

Youtube

1. You are loved (don’t give up)- Josh Groban- released 2006 Awake

This one nearly didn’t make the list. Not because I don’t consider it a guilty pleasure, I do. But because it’s so bad I’m blushing as I write this. At least it is inspirational.

Youtube

Shaun

Alright, and here are mine.

5.  What goes around…/…Comes Around… – Justin Timberlake – 2006

Ok, This was one of my top songs of the year.  It was catchy, vengeful, and clocked in at seven and a half minutes.  The video for this song was a big budget short with Scarlett Johansson.  This to me is a guilty because it comes from a former N’Sync member, but I will readily admit it is one of the top pop songs of the decade.

Youtube

4.  Welcome to the Black Parade – My Chemical Romance – 2006

Once again from the year 2006.  Must been a really guilty year for me.  EMO!!!!! You can’t really get too much more emo than this.  But it’s epic emo.  Over the top, in your face.  And loads of fun.

Youtube

3.  Rendez Vu – Basement Jaxx – 1999

An album that came out the year I started working at HMV.  Where I started in the Dance room.  Basement Jaxx’s debut album Remedy was an album that I played repeatedly in the store, and in my parents minivan.  Yup, the minivan.  That should make it guilty enough.  But the “dum dum dum” lyrics and the late 90’s uk house beats made it simple, immediate and unbearably catchy.

Youtube

2.  Hips don’t lie – Shakira ft. Wyclef – 2006 (again)

I didn’t realize how guilty this song was until the Sasquatch festival when my playlist was playing to the group of campers around our site.  When this song came on there was a collective moan from everyone except our site.    Wyclef plays along with Shakira perfectly and as Shakira is on all 3 of our lists, it must be embarrassing to enjoy Columbian lite hip hop.  She Wolf for 2009!!!

Youtube

1.  Don’t stop the Music – Rihanna – 2007

When I was inVegas 2007, I heard “Don’t Stop the Music” 21 times in 7 days.  Only once on my iPod.  It was everywhere.  And it never left my head.  Everything about this song makes is catchy.  Add a classic MJ sample/ripoff.  And it’s embedded permanently.  And I am not even a big MJ fan.  Everything about this song works.  And it is just pure unadulterated fun.  A song that was played on the radio stations 40 times a day, that you just don’t want to admit that you love.

Youtube

What are your top 5 guilty pleaseures?  We would love to hear what they are and what you think about our selections.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top 5 – Guilty Pleasures

  1. Cam says:

    Kristyn – This brings back haunting memories of your Shakira/(basically Cher) impression.

  2. Breanna says:

    So i would just like to say that Enrique is not a guilty pleasure thats just a pleasure seriously you woiuld have a hard time finding someone who wouldnt sing along with that out,
    and Kristyn Jarasic 5 i feel is like a family guilty pleasure cuz there was a time when walking through our home you could hear it playing in any of the kids rooms. Since you’ve been gone is my number 1 here i think because Josh Groban is inspirational and fun to sing along with so that is less of a guilt thing for me as well.
    Please dont stop the music is also on my list cuz im not a huge Rihanna fan and the song is way over played but every time it comes on I feel like dancing!

Leave a Reply

