Fall be kind? Fall be cruel.

Fall be kind? I’m gonna take this as some sort of cruel joke on Edmonton, Fall was not exactly kind, it was cruel and cold. I’m pretty sure though that Animal Collective’s new EP wasn’t making a statement on the weather.

When I heard they managed to sneak in an extra EP this year I was jazzed. Given that this is pretty much my favourite band, I figured I should let it stew for a while before I decided if it was really as good as I thought or I just was excited by new material. That and I was too distracted by finals to write anything musical.

One of my favourite things about this band is that they never throw something old or refurbished at you. The only thing consistent about them is that they consistently change it up, every new album is a surprise and different from the last. Even if you don’t dig absolutely everything they do (which even I don’t), you have to admire a band that keeps things fresh and is always playing with their sound.

Although Kris may disagree, this is a solid EP, even Pitchfork agrees, placing “what would I want? Sky” the second song on the EP, in their top 20.
The album kind of sounds like a ramped up version of “Feels” with lots of surprises thrown in. Like the pan-flute party at the end of “Graze” or the Grateful Dead sample on “what would I want? Sky.”

01 Graze

Overall, the I give this EP an A- (sorry I’ve been consumed by school and grades, so everything in my life exists on a letter grade system), the first couple tracks are fantastic and the last two are pretty alright, I don’t love “Bleed” as it doesn’t sound all that interesting to me and I’ve never been a fan of their really slow stuff. But the fun of any Animal Collective is there is a lot to listen to so keep listening, it grows on you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fall be kind? Fall be cruel.

  1. Kris says:

    I don’t disagree. I just haven’t listened to this EP. Listening to Animal Collective releases ranks pretty low on my list.

    • shaun says:

      Well despite my anti-animal collective tendencies. The first 2 tracks on this EP are stellar. And Zamfir on Graze makes the EP with those 2 minutes of awesomeness.

      • Kris says:

        I will listen to it soon. I thought La Roux would be my last 2009 listen, but i’ll make an exception for this. I do like Zamfir and the Grateful Dead.

  2. stephs says:

    listening to the pan-flute band join in at the end of the song makes me want to get up and dance as crazy and as fast as I can!

Leave a Reply

