We get up early just to start cranking the generator – Part 2

Yesterday when I was writing up a post I noticed that we were getting a lot of hits for people googling “We get up early just to start cranking the generator”. Which is from a song by the fantastic band “Freelance Whales” which I featured on my Best of 2009 list. I was confused as to why, but just assumed that the song was getting airplay somewhere in the world finally. Then this morning I read that the A.V. Club started up season 2, so I jumped on over to hear the first track, and lo and behold, the commercial before the song is a Starbucks commercial featuring the song “Generator ^ First Floor”. So if you are interested in the song head on over to the Post I made about the album back in November 2009 and give it a listen. The commercial is below.

As for the A.V. Club. It is a fantastic little series in which Artists choose a song from a list of great songs to cover. Once an artist does the song it is crossed off, and can’t be done again, meaning that the further down the list the artist has less songs to choose from. The first one in this season is Iron and wine (featuring Marketa Iglova) covering “One more try” by George Michael. I have to admit that I actually enjoyed the original, but Iron and Wine do a fantastic version. So head on over to the A.V. Club and check it out. I can’t wait for the Little Red Corvette cover, should be one of the earlier choices.

And for those fans of George Michael out there, you likely remember the song Careless Whisper and it’s accompanying video. Well there is a video of sexy sax man playing the sax part in public that is worth watching. You may find yourself humming the sax part for the next few hours but it is rather entertaining.

So enjoy a George Michael and Freelance Whales kinda afternoon.

– Shaun

This entry was posted in Musical thoughts, Track Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We get up early just to start cranking the generator – Part 2

  1. Lauren says:

    Man, I love that song! Thanks for introducing me to it way back when, lol! Great commercial. And hilarious sax man. All in all, top notch post 🙂

  2. Zeke Smith says:

    Man, I *hate* that song! I think I would hate it even if it wasn’t in a StarBucks commercial, but that really sealed the deal.

  3. Craig Tucker says:

    I am probably going to cum all over Lauren and Zeke.

    Stick out your tongues.

  4. Pingback: We get up early just to start cranking the generator – Part 3 | Bolster Your Holster

Leave a Reply

