You never even tried to love me… What did I have to do to make you want me?

Today Pitchfork Best New Music’d a new track from the Fantastic new Cass McCombs album “Wit’s End”. And as much as I enjoy that track, I can’t stop listening to the opener “County Line”. As with nearly all of Cass’ recordings, Wit’s End is a casual throwback feeling album that rarely picks up the pace. But it is full of melody, insight, and texture. To me “County Line” feels like a journey. Almost as though he is taking a familiar route that he would take to a former lover and he is forced to remember the failures of the relationship with the fortune of hindsight. But that’s just what I get. And when he gets to that sad falsetto that just pours out the pain, wow.

There is a dark and moody NSFW video for the track that interprets it completely differently, but works just as well. Take a watch and a listen and get sad. It’s over at V Magazine. It appears I can’t embed it.

And here is my fav track off his last album. Not nearly as sad.


– Shaun

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You never even tried to love me… What did I have to do to make you want me?

  1. Gmonnie says:

    I accidently found your website and enjoyed reading it. I saw the National and Arcade Fire in Indy last week with my 13y/o son. I feel a bit sorry for him because I think he may have peaked with his first concert. It was simply beautiful.

Leave a Reply

