A Retrospective – January 2012 – Kris

Shaun has invited and encouraged me to take part in this monthly retrospective so I humbly accept his invitation. It’s a great way to keep track of some of those musical moments throughout the year that could be easy to forget down the line and I like that.

January was a strange month. I’d like to include the last couple weeks of December in there as well for the strangeness, but music wise I’ll keep it to stuff from January. A lot of stuff has happened in the last six weeks ranging from heart wrenching to scream-out-loud fantastic and while I won’t list those things here I will say it has been emotional. It also doesn’t help that I’ve been stuck with the damn flu for the past week and unable to do much of anything.

5. Jeff Buckley – Everybody Here Wants You (1998)

A random revisit to Jeff Buckley happened a couple weeks ago. Such a shame that he died so young. I know I can’t sing as good as he could, but Buckley is often my sing-along music for the car. I love the range. This is one of the most straight forward rock ballads he ever wrote, but I think it should be reinterpreted with a slight soul flair that a certain band should start playing soon. This is definitely something you want to put your soul into.

4. LMFAO – Party Rock Anthem (2011)

Yeah I’m late to the party, I only heard this for the first time on December 28. I don’t even know if I like it, but it’s damn catchy and I finally understand what people were saying when they said, “everyday i’m shuffling”, being only familiar with the classic Rick Ross line “everyday i’m hustling'”. It’s also a good song to dance to, that’s a thumbs up in my books.

3. Townes Van Zandt – Only Him Or Me (1971)

Part of my continuing dip into the annals of classic pop/rock/folk/country that doesn’t seem to have an end. Townes seemed like the right choice earlier this year with a glass of tequila or bourbon. Just sad enough to raise up those emotions and just angry enough to throw them away. I’ve been listening to Live at The Old Quarter a great intimate concert to really get to see Townes as he was. He closes the show with this track, one that makes me able to push some feelings elsewhere and move on.

2. Azealia Banks – 212 (2011)

The requisite song that should of been in my top songs list of 2011, but I didn’t hear until 2012. This is something I need to hear in a club. Is there anywhere that would play this in a club. Somebody let me play this in the club.

1. Gene Clark – Strength of Strings (1974)

I have never really listened to The Byrds. I know the hits, but I haven’t listened to a full album of theirs ever. Gene Clark was the original Byrd, but his solo work is so good that I’m scared to even listen to The Byrds now. I wanted to listen to old country/rock one day in January and put his album No Other on after having not listened to it in over a year. Instead I got a perfect piece of psychedelic country rock that is pieced together so beautifully. This is my favourite track from it.

This entry was posted in Lists, Top 5 Lists, Track Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

